Command line interface doesn't work with Ultimate engine

All about the program
Post Reply
magpie
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Jul 2016, 17:41

24 Jul 2016, 17:52

I'm trying to create thumbnails for an HD video from the command line with the ultimate engine, but the console reports "Ultimate engine failed". When I check the diag.log file it shows no error, but the diag_bak.log shows this:

[BLACK] [10:25:42 AM] .... Black frame is detected, trying to substitute

When I change to the crystal codecs the thumbnail is created as expected. Creating thumbnails with the ultimate engine from the GUI also works.

How can I get the CLI to work? The whole point of buying this program was to use it from the command line with the faster engine.
bbbrainstorm
Posts: 9
Joined: 02 Apr 2016, 20:11

24 Jul 2016, 21:54

Console logs are named a bit different "Diag_console.log" and are placed into "Logs" folder.

Also please make sure your are using the latest version of VTM 9.1.0.0.
magpie
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Jul 2016, 17:41

24 Jul 2016, 22:27

None of the logs in that folder provide additional info aside from the fact that the Ultimate engine failed.

I just downloaded the program Friday so I'm up to date.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1377
Joined: 03 Jun 2014, 22:14

25 Jul 2016, 21:49

Hello.

What is your command line string? Please share an example.

Also you can:
1) Try to process other files. Probably the problem is in particular files.
2) Try to set "try substituting for any color frames" checkbox OFF in Environment window.
magpie
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Jul 2016, 17:41

26 Jul 2016, 15:34

It appears that it might have been that particular video which was giving me trouble. In any event, the command line I use in a batch file is:

Code: Select all

for %%i in (*.mp4 *.avi *.mkv *.wmv) Do "c:\path\to\Video Thumbnails Maker\videothumbnailsmaker.exe" "c:\path\to\Options\scenes.vtm" "%%i"
I create it this way to save me the trouble of having to add the file name manually each time.
Post Reply